MeTyme

Bits & pieces of my crazy world…

Where Does The Time Go?

Posted by MeTymeMN on May 3, 2008

With today being May 3rd, that means 1 month and 3 days until my son graduates high school. There are surprisingly mixed feelings with this – of the “I can’t believe my first-born baby is already graduating high school” to “this day can’t come soon enough!” It must be tough for him being only 17 but knowing EVERYTHING. Regardless of how I’m feeling on any given day about this subject, there is one irrefutible fact that remains constant: I am WAY too young to have a high school graduate. 🙂

So needless to say I’ve been quite busy trying to get this ready for the big day.  Understand, however, that he cares not a bit about all of the hoopla – not the ceremony, graduation party (other than he’s excited about gifts of money…sigh), senior pictures, senior day – none of it.  I’ll spare you all the lack of motivation in the “what I’m going to do after I graduate” headache.  But one thing I will point out is senior pictures – they were taken quite a while ago and we went in again yesterday to view the proofs and decide what we wanted.  He doesn’t care about handing out pictures to friends, so between his dad and I we figured 2 8x10s, 8 5x7s, the minimum-purchase of 24 wallets and 8 proofs in a little binder (I’m making the graduation announcements/party invites myself and his God Father is printing them all up).  Working that order a number of different ways (packages vs. ala carte vs. a combination of both), the bare minimum we would spend is $541; that’s with a 10% discount and before tax.  Over my dead body.  If I made $500,000 a year I would not pay that much for those pictures.  They’re good, but they’re not great.  My son, I, his dad and step-dad all decided that we’ll take some pictures ourselves on the digital camera, run them through PhotoShop and have them printed somewhere.  I – who always pays for convenience – am stunned that people actually fork out that kind of dough!  It was $78 for ONE 5×7.  That’s just…rape.  So I now have a couple additional to-do’s in the graduation department, in a very short period of time here.

Today is Prom day.  For four years he has gone to school functions/dances (Homecoming, SnoDaze, Sadies, Prom) with “the gang;” his 4 or 5 closest friends.  We’d all get together the morning of and have the kids hand-make their corsages and boutonnieres, all re-group again to do pictures, sometimes the parents would slam a few after the kids had left wondering how they’re going to make it on their own someday… this time, however, my son is going to Prom with a friend (this will actually be the first time going to a dance without the same girl/girlfriend he’d had for a few years), as just friends, and here it is the morning of and he still doesn’t know what time dinner is at, who’s driving, where or if they’re all getting together for pictures beforehand.  I’m only the mom here, but I’m bummed; I miss the gang doing this together.  He was so adamant about going to Prom his senior year, but even he admits it’s just not the same this time without the whole gang going.  Some don’t have girlfriends anymore, or one’s ex-girlfriend is now another’s girlfriend so of course there’s tension there; still, I hope he gets a little more excited as the day wears on as this is his last Prom.

<Ooooooh – my wonderful husband just handed me one of his to-die-for bloody mary’s…he must be sensing some of my sadness.  Love!!> 

In between all of that and job interviewing, I’ve managed to get a few things done in the fiber department:

    

The two above are back and front shots of a washcloth done in Tunisian Crochet.  If you’re not familiar with it, think of Tunisian Crochet as a combination of knitting and crocheting:  each row is actually a series of two steps, where stitches are picked up and held on the needle across from right to left, and then crocheted off on the way back from left to right.  This particular pattern was done using a double ended crochet hook and two colors.  The washcloth was a refresher project for me before I start on a baby blanket.

 

Then I finally finished my Saucy Spring Socks for the swap I’m in; love the way they turned out and can’t wait to make another pair!  This pair was done in Dream In Color Smooshy.

 

 

 

 

After refreshing my memory on Tunisian Crochet, I hopped over to doing Tunisian Entrelac; I hadn’t done this technique before so used this bag as my starter project – something entrelac and done in the round.  This is all leading up to the project I eventually will dive into here in the next couple of weeks. 

 

 

Lastly, and most exciting for me right now anyway, I started my lace class at Double Ewe.  I was prepared for a learning curve; I was prepared for patience; I was prepared to learn how to read charts.  I’ve done lace before, but what I really wasn’t prepared for was using lace-weight yarn.  That really takes getting used to.  I find myself going very very slowly knitting this up, and move my life line often!!  I’ve already ripped back a couple times because I couldn’t find where my mistake happened (which I can only assume was a dropped YO when I was on a purl row).   The other thing that has me intrigued is how it looks now vs. how it will look once it is blocked; quite a difference.  When I really stretch this out I can start to see the pattern it’s supposed to look like when it’s finished.  I can see myself getting hooked on this!  But being a newbie at this point, it’s definitely something I can’t do while I’m trying to watch TV or carry on a conversation; I need quiet so I can concentrate.  Needless to say I barely have the opportunity to work on it in this house! Wait…wait… husband appears to be gearing up to go power-wash the deck; that should give me at least a couple hours of relative quiet. So I’m off!!

3 Responses to “Where Does The Time Go?”

  1. Patty said

    We paid about $700 for wedding pictures 12 years ago and I thought that was insane. Holy crap, nearly $80+ for a 5×7?? They should be arrested for charging that much – is it handpainted for goodness sakes??

    I love how the washcloth turned out and the lace – you are rockin’ girlfriend! And the socks look yummy – I’m turning the heel on my first one (such a putz, eh?).

    Enjoy the rest of the weekend, CP.

  2. Ann said

    Ahh, graduation. Just wait until you marry him off! Then you really cry!! And the price of those pictures is just a rip off. We never paid that much for any of our kids graduation pictures.

  3. Miss T said

    Nice work on the lace!

Leave a Reply

 
